Risk of the surgery and recovery

The 'implanted component' of the cochlear implant is surgically implanted into the bionic ear. The surgery takes two to three hours. Published report proves that cochlear implant surgery is safe in general.

Complications caused by cochlear implant surgery are more or less the same as the other surgeries, for example, anesthetic risk, inflammation, infection and bleeding, etc. Other complications brought about by otological surgeries are aural paralysis, facial paralysis, dysgeusia, headache, aural vertigo, tinnitus, etc.

Although a cochlear implant surgery has risk, individual interested in the Programme needs not worry too much as most of the complications mentioned above will disappear when the wound heals.

Most implantees at the Prince of Wales Hospital can be discharged 24 hours after the surgery. The wound usually takes one to three weeks to heal. Implantees can resume their daily activities within the recovery period. Even children can move freely one day after the surgery.

Post-surgery rehabilitative training

Post-surgery rehabilitative training is as important as implant surgery in the Programme. Since cochlear implant surgery does not cure deafness, patients have to get used to the sound stimulus produced by the new device so as to develop their hearing and speech ability.

The professionals of the cochlear implant team will draw up a rehabilitative plan to meet individual needs. Patients should actively and persistently participate in the training for the best outcome of cochlear implantation.

The implant does not restore normal hearing but does improve the person's ability to hear environmental sounds, to hear rhythms and patterns of speech, and to use speech reading (lip reading) better.

Benefits to implantees

ADULTS
Many research reports provide proof of the effectiveness of cochlear implants. Clinical trials reveal that the communica-tion ability of most of the adults enrolled in the Programme have been enhanced through listening and lip-reading. Reports also show that cochlear implantation increases the confidence of these adults and helps them lead a more active and enjoyable social life. Other adults will have better job opportunities and improved relationships with their family and friends.

 
CHILDREN
Children can hear more sounds with cochlear implants after post-operative training. They can then learn speech and language, and eventually communicate with people through speech, just like a normal child. Children can be trained to hear more sounds after receiving cochlear implants. Some of them can even enter main stream education. All of the changes have a positive influence on the kids' development, their daily activities and family life.
Benefits to the society

If an adult receives a cochlear implant successfully, this will not only increase his work efficiency, but also improve his ability to communicate and receive information. As they can better fit into the society, expenses for special equipment and facilities will be reduced. Moreover, if a child in the Programme can enter mainstream education, the society can also save resources on special education.

Cost

Cost incurred by each patient in the Cochlear Implant Programme is approximately US$30,000 (including surgery, device, check-up and follow-up plan)

手术的危险性及康复情况

人工耳蜗的“植入部份”需经手术内植病人的耳蜗内,此手术约只需两至三小时。根据已发表的手术后报告显示,人工耳蜗内植手术一般是安全的。

人工耳蜗植入手术可能引起的并发症与其他的手术无异,当中包括:痳醉的危险、发炎、感染和流血等。另外,还有一些属于耳朵手术的并发症可能会出现,例如耳朵痳痹或僵硬、面神经痳痹、味觉障碍、头痛、晕眩及耳鸣等。

虽然人工耳蜗内植手术潜在这些风险,但有意参与计划的人士亦不用过份忧虑,因在大多数的情况下,以上提及的症状会随着伤口愈合而消失。

在威尔斯亲王医院,大部份的人工耳蜗植入者均能在手术后廿四小时出院。手术后伤口的愈合通常要一至三周,植入者在这段时间后便可恢复正常活动,而儿童一般在手术后一天便可活动自如。

手术后的康复训练

手术后的康复训练与内植手术在整个计划中是同样重要的;因为人工耳蜗的内植手术并不是治愈已损坏的听力,所以病人需要重新适应及学习运用新仪器所提供的声音刺激,以发展其听力及语言能力。

人工耳蜗内植小组的专业人士,会根据个别病人的需要,制定合适的康复计划。病人必需积极和持续参与训练,这样才可达致人工耳蜗最佳的效果。


耳蜗内植者的得益

成年人
人工耳蜗内植的成效,在许多研究报告中已得到确定。临床试验显示,大部分完成人工耳蜗内植计划的成年人,都可依靠聆听和唇读来增强沟通能力。研究报告亦指出,人工耳蜗内植令许多成年植入者增强自信心,使他们在社交场合更活跃、更投入。另外一部分成年植入者亦因此获得更多工作机会,及改善与家庭和朋友的关系。

 
儿童
儿童方面经过手术后的训练,都能利用人工耳蜗听到更多的声音,继而学习语言,最终能和健听儿童一样以口语作沟通,有部份儿童更能融入主流教育。这些转变对其身心发展、参与日常生活和家庭生活方面均有良好的影响。

社会的得益

有学者指出,一个成功接受人工耳蜗的成年人不但在工作上会更有效率,又因为他们对外沟通及吸收资讯的能力改善了,结果更能融入社会,减低社会在特殊器材和特殊设施方面的开支。另外在教育方面,如果参与人工耳蜗内植计划的儿童,能够融入正常学校接受教育,会为社会减省特殊教育的开支。


费用

人工耳蜗内植计划的每人成本(包括手术、仪器、检查及跟进计划)约为三万美元。