Q.

What is Cochlear Implant?

 

A.

A cochlear implant is an electronic device comprised of 'an implanted part' and 'an external component'. 'The implanted part' is made up of a receiver/stimulator and a filament which can produce a multi-channel electrode array to stimulate the auditory nerve (to be implanted into the cochlear). 'The external component' consists of a transmitting coil, a microphone and a speech processor. Audiologists will programme the speech processor to suit the need of each CI user.

The structure and mechanism of the cochlear implant are more complex than a conventional hearing aid. It brings a greater awareness to a broader range of sounds. Although the cochlear implant cannot restore damaged auditory nerves or hearing, it improves sound reception and speech perception with the sophisticated device and post-operative training.

Q. Who can benefit from a cochlear implant?

A.

When conventional hearing aids cannot help patients with severe to profound sensorineural hearing loss to improve their hearing and communication ability, they may consider the option of cochlear implantation. In general, the shorter the period of hearing loss, the better the outcome will be. This period is especially crucial for children, as infancy is the prime time for developing speech and communication skills. Delay in treatment will hinder rehabilitative training and badly affect surgery outcomes.

General criteria for the cochlear implant :
1. bilateral severe to profound sensorineural hearing loss
2. aged 12 months or above
3. inability to recognize speech through conventional hearing aids or other hearing device
4. no contraindications to implant surgery
5. a strong wish to improve hearing with appropriate understanding and expectations of the results of surgery
6. a high degree of commitment and appropriate expectation of the surgery outcome and rehabilitative training
7. for children, a comprehensive educational facility and programme that emphasize development of their auditory skills
Q.

What is the risk of having Cochlear Implants? Will it take a long time to recover?

A.

The 'implanted component' of the cochlear implant is surgically implanted into the bionic ear. The surgery takes two to three hours. Published report proves that cochlear implant surgery is safe in general.

Complications caused by cochlear implant surgery are more or less the same as the other surgeries, for example, anesthetic risk, inflammation, infection and bleeding, etc. Other complications brought about by otological surgeries are aural paralysis, facial paralysis, dysgeusia, headache, aural vertigo, tinnitus, etc.

Although a cochlear implant surgery has risk, individual interested in the Programme needs not worry too much as most of the complications mentioned above will disappear when the wound heals.

Most implantees at the Prince of Wales Hospital can be discharged 24 hours after the surgery. The wound usually takes one to three weeks to heal. Implantees can resume their daily activities within the recovery period. Even children can move freely one day after the surgery.

Q. Are there any support after my surgery?

A.

Post-surgery rehabilitative training is as important as implant surgery in the Programme. Since cochlear implant surgery does not cure deafness, patients have to get used to the sound stimulus produced by the new device so as to develop their hearing and speech ability.

The professionals of the cochlear implant team will draw up a rehabilitative plan to meet individual needs. Patients should actively and persistently participate in the training for the best outcome of cochlear implantation.

The implant does not restore normal hearing but does improve the person's ability to hear environmental sounds, to hear rhythms and patterns of speech, and to use speech reading (lip reading) better.

Q. What are the benefits of having Cochlear Implants?
A.

ADULTS
Many research reports provide proof of the effectiveness of cochlear implants. Clinical trials reveal that the communica-tion ability of most of the adults enrolled in the Programme have been enhanced through listening and lip-reading. Reports also show that cochlear implantation increases the confidence of these adults and helps them lead a more active and enjoyable social life. Other adults will have better job opportunities and improved relationships with their family and friends.

   
  CHILDREN
Children can hear more sounds with cochlear implants after post-operative training. They can then learn speech and language, and eventually communicate with people through speech, just like a normal child. Children can be trained to hear more sounds after receiving cochlear implants. Some of them can even enter main stream education. All of the changes have a positive influence on the kids' development, their daily activities and family life.
Q. Benefits to the society
A.

If an adult receives a cochlear implant successfully, this will not only increase his work efficiency, but also improve his ability to communicate and receive information. As they can better fit into the society, expenses for special equipment and facilities will be reduced. Moreover, if a child in the Programme can enter mainstream education, the society can also save resources on special education.

Q. Cost
A.

Cost incurred by each patient in the Cochlear Implant Programme is approximately US$30,000 (including surgery, device, check-up and follow-up plan)

Q: When comparing the cochlear implant with the conventional hearing aid, which one is better?
A:
The Cochlear implant cannot be compared with the conventional hearing aid as there are strengths and weaknesses of each device with respect to the working mechanism, sound reception, hearing loss level suitable for that particular device and post-surgery training.
 
Q: Would it be convenient to change the parts of the cochlear implant if some component is out of order?
A:
In recent years, the implanted component of a cochlear implant has been designed to have a similar life span as human's. Yet, any man-made devices can fail and break. International experience shows that the damage rate of the implant parts is very low. Even if the parts do not work, they can be changed, while the external components can be replaced at any time.
 
Q: My child is active. I am very worried about him breaking some of the components after he receives a cochlear implant. What should I do?
A:
The user should avoid hitting or dampening the components of any electronic device. There is no exception in the case of the cochlear implant. In general, provided that the user adheres to some minor precautions, anyone wearing a cochlear implant, including children, can take part in outdoor activities freely. Parents should teach their kids not to hit the incision area directly, for instance, by wearing a helmet for contact sports and removing the external component before swimming. As there are great changes in pressure during diving, cochlear implant users should avoid this activity.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright © 2014 Department of Otorhinolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Privacy | Disclaimer

: 什么是人工耳蜗?  

答:

人工耳蜗是一套电子装置,主要分为“植入部份”和“外置配件”两部份:“植入部份”包括接收/刺激器及一条能对听觉神经提供多频刺激的电极系列,需经手术植入耳蜗内。而“外置配件”则包括传输线圈、接收声音的麦克风、以及言语处理器;其中言语处理器必须根据个别病人的需要,由听力学家利用电脑编程,方能使用。

人工耳蜗的构造和原理比一般助听器复杂,所接收声音的范围亦比普通助听器更为广阔。人工耳蜗并不能治愈已损坏的耳朵或听力,但它能利用先进的仪器,配合手术后的训练,希望令病人有更好的声音接收和语言理解。

: 谁适合采用人工耳蜗?

答:

当病人患有严重至深度的感音性弱听,而助听器亦对改善声音接收及沟通的能力帮助有限时,便应考虑接受人工耳蜗内植。一般而言,弱听的时间愈短,手术后的成效愈大;而这个时间的长短对儿童来说尤为关键。因为幼儿是儿童学习言语沟通的黄金时段,如果时间拖久了,将会增加手术后康复训练的困难,降低手术后的效果。
 
下列是一些应否做人工耳蜗内植的标准:
1. 双耳患有重度至严重至深度的感音性弱听;
2. 年龄在十二个月以上;
3. 一般助听器或其他助听装置对言语理解的成效有限;
4. 对于接受植入手术没有不良反应;
5. 具有强烈改善听觉的愿望和对手术后效果有正确的认识和期望;
6. 对手术后的成效及复康训练有正确的期望和承担;
7. 对于儿童来说,需有一套完整的教育设施和计划以帮助提高其听力。
: 手术有何风险?需要多久才可以康复?

答:

人工耳蜗的“植入部份”需经手术内植病人的耳蜗内,此手术约只需两至三小时。根据已发表的手术后报告显示,人工耳蜗内植手术一般是安全的。

人工耳蜗植入手术可能引起的并发症与其他的手术无异,当中包括:痳醉的危险、发炎、感染和流血等。另外,还有一些属于耳朵手术的并发症可能会出现,例如耳朵痳痹或僵硬、面神经痳痹、味觉障碍、头痛、晕眩及耳鸣等。

虽然人工耳蜗内植手术潜在这些风险,但有意参与计划的人士亦不用过份忧虑,因在大多数的情况下,以上提及的症状会随着伤口愈合而消失。

在威尔斯亲王医院,大部份的人工耳蜗植入者均能在手术后廿四小时出院。手术后伤口的愈合通常要一至三周,植入者在这段时间后便可恢复正常活动,而儿童一般在手术后一天便可活动自如。

: 手术后会有康复支援吗?  

答:

手术后的康复训练与内植手术在整个计划中是同样重要的;因为人工耳蜗的内植手术并不是治愈已损坏的听力,所以病人需要重新适应及学习运用新仪器所提供的声音刺激,以发展其听力及语言能力。

人工耳蜗内植小组的专业人士,会根据个别病人的需要,制定合适的康复计划。病人必需积极和持续参与训练,这样才可达致人工耳蜗最佳的效果。
: 接受耳蜗内植的病人有何得益?

答:

成年人
人工耳蜗内植的成效,在许多研究报告中已得到确定。临床试验显示,大部分完成人工耳蜗内植计划的成年人,都可依靠聆听和唇读来增强沟通能力。研究报告亦指出,人工耳蜗内植令许多成年植入者增强自信心,使他们在社交场合更活跃、更投入。另外一部分成年植入者亦因此获得更多工作机会,及改善与家庭和朋友的关系。
 
  儿童
儿童方面经过手术后的训练,都能利用人工耳蜗听到更多的声音,继而学习语言,最终能和健听儿童一样以口语作沟通,有部份儿童更能融入主流教育。这些转变对其身心发展、参与日常生活和家庭生活方面均有良好的影响。
: 社会会有何得益?

答:

有学者指出,一个成功接受人工耳蜗的成年人不但在工作上会更有效率,又因为他们对外沟通及吸收资讯的能力改善了,结果更能融入社会,减低社会在特殊器材和特殊设施方面的开支。另外在教育方面,如果参与人工耳蜗内植计划的儿童,能够融入正常学校接受教育,会为社会减省特殊教育的开支。
: 人工耳蜗内植手术的收费如何?

答:

人工耳蜗内植计划的每人成本(包括手术、仪器、检查及跟进计划)约为三万美元。
: 人工耳蜗和助听器比较,哪一个比较好?
答: 人工耳蜗和助听器并不能作单一的比较,因为两者无论在原理、收音范围、适合使用人仕的弱听程度、配戴和手术后的训练,都各有其长处和短处。另外,人工耳蜗计划因其成本、手术和手术后训练的各方面考虑,对病人的要求亦与配戴助听器有所不同。要知道自己最适合利用哪一种仪器来改善听觉,最佳的方法是向这方面的专业人士查询。他们会因应你的个别情况作出建议。
: 人工耳蜗的配件若果坏了,更换是否方便?
答: 近年人工耳蜗的植入部份已设计至可以维持与人类寿命一样的时间,但和任何人造仪器一样,是有可能损坏的。根据全球的经验,植入部份的损坏率十分低。即使损坏也能成功地更换,外置配件损坏时也可更换。
: 我的小朋友活泼好动,我很担心他配戴人工耳蜗后,会很容易便摔坏当中的配件,我该怎么办?
答: 任何电子零件都应避免大力撞击或沾湿,人工耳蜗也不例外。但一般来说,只要注意一些简单事项,任何人(包括小朋友)配戴人工耳蜗后,也可自由参与户外活动。日常可教导你的小朋友尽量避免直接碰撞手术的部位;如做接触性运动时,应戴头盔;游泳前应把外置配件先取下;最好不要潜水,因潜水时压力变化会很大。
 
 
香港中文大学 医学院 耳鼻咽喉-头颈外科学系 2014 © 版权所有
私隐政策 | 免责声明